Last day

medium_26072244

Yesterday was the last day I’m planning on volunteering at my church, at least for the next 9 months or so.

I was co-leading a music team and decided I needed to do something else for a while. It just so happened that the person in charge decided it was the right time for the entire team to disband, so yesterday was the team’s last day as well.

Church may not seem like something capable of being fickle, but I’m concerned that many of the others who were on the team might not receive a similar opportunity again, and, unfortunately, it’s not up to them whether they’re able to or not.

After reading a book called The Volunteer Revolution, I’ve learned how important it is that people be able to volunteer doing things they like, but church music is an exclusive club, and invites seem to be handed out to people with potential or to friends of friends. It doesn’t float my boat and I don’t want to be a part of that.

Hypocritically speaking, if I ever did “serve” again, who would I be asking to help me? My friends or people with potential… a bitter catch 22. Better to make it my last day.

photo credit: Shavar Ross via photopin cc

An entertainer, composer, blogger and illustrator living in SE Alberta, Canada.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Churchie Stuff

Leave a Reply

