Be Careful What You Ask For

Many of us have heroes and/or celebrities that we look up to and/or are infatuated with. I decided to take a leap and ask two of my blogging / writing / artistic heroes a question via Twitter.

(Just to give you some background, I’ve been using crayons and crayon pencils for the last bit. I’m no artist, but I thought it’d be neat to try & see if it led anywhere.)

Asking the question

I thought it was a straightforward question, though I never expected to read this:

Picture 2 Asking The QuestionPicture 4

Don’t ask me how or why, but at that particular moment I felt humiliated. I’m going to speculate that it was probably because I felt I was going out on a limb, asking what I thought was a good, straight-forward question and received answers that made me feel dumb.

Retrospectively speaking, of course they make art with their hands. Every artist makes art with their hands (unless you happen not to have hands, in which case you may use your feet, head or other appendages). They may use technology like iPads with apps like Procreate to assist them (I don’t know whether they do or not), but their primary tools are their hands.

(Both Hugh and Austin have posted information about the different pens / products they prefer to use, by the way – helpful for anyone with money to acquire similar products, should anyone be interested)

It’s not stupid to talk to your heroes, but make sure you know what you’re getting into. Be ready for a response (or no response, in certain cases). Have a hard shell and be careful what you ask for, lest you feel like a total moron afterwards!

Andrew

An entertainer, composer, blogger and illustrator living in SE Alberta, Canada.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Rants, Social Media, Technology

Leave a Reply

