Branding vs Blogging for Enjoyment (and other Evil Plans)

I’m a fan of Hugh MacLeod and Austin Kleon. Both are/were bloggers who illustrate to different extents. You could say they’re my blogging inspiration me.

In a few days I’m going to start blogging with more purpose, but for now it’s purely for enjoyment. There’s something to be said for seeing your words / thoughts printed for all to see on the internet. It might not seem flattering, but it’s definitely two steps up from having to get approval from professional publishers.

One of the things I’m looking forward to as I pursue blogging more frequently is upgrading my primary computer. Seems that Apple doesn’t support the older model we have… won’t even provide upgrades for it, so a new computer is necessary (for updating browsers, software, etc.).

One of the things I’m not looking forward to is the branding/marketing/etc. Seems there’s a number of other bloggers who are doing the same. One book lists the figure at 54,000 new blogs started each and every day. The only difference is content and who goes the distance (ie. blogs most frequently).

Much of what I’m reading right now revolves around becoming a professional blogger. Not sure that it’s the direction that I want to take, but it’s a step in the direction of professional writer, and that is a direction I feel like going in at present. Anyone else feel similar?

There’s so much out there for resources — it’s a bit intimidating right now. I’m looking forward to when this becomes old had (easy). Looking forward to sharing this time of my life writing & reading with all of you. Feel free to let me know what you think & what’s driving you too!

An entertainer, composer, blogger and illustrator living in SE Alberta, Canada.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

